Wednesday, August 20, 2008

yup, definitely the second time around.

Yesterday, I took Kleptobaby to her first Gymboree class. The same kind of class that I couldn't wait to take Mini-hubbie to when he was her age. Back then, it was exciting to be around other mothers with kids my kid's age. Exciting to see how my kid reacts, see what things he'll learn, find some new activities I can do at home with him, etc.

This time all I kept thinking was "I'm going to pay $75 a month for this?" Maybe my expectations are starting to rise for classes since Mini-hubbie is actually learning skills now. But seriously, this is what I used to look forward to? Now, I'm not knocking the class, it was fine. But this time around, I didn't want to talk to the other mothers on how to encourage our kids to walk (I now know better) or what their nap schedules look like.

One exercise, the teacher puts each child on a large ball and as she rolls the ball forward tells you to look at your kid's toes. As your child gets close to the ground, their toes flex anticipating the upcoming "fall." All the new mothers "oohh-ed" and "ahhh-ed" over this. I just felt like "so?"

Boy have things changed for me! There is such a difference between the first time mother and the "seasoned" mother. Poor Kleptobaby!

Monday, August 18, 2008

I have a dirty little secret.

All meat and dairy that enters this house must be hormone free. I only use "green" cleaners now, avoiding all toxic chemicals. I'm extremely picky on which sun blocks my family uses. We're now boycotting high fructose corn syrup. Oh, and margarine is not welcome here.

But...there is only little item I haven't been able to successfully place on the chopping block.

Diet Coke.

Oh, how I go week in the knees over the stuff. One for breakfast, two around lunch, one mid-afternoon, dinner, evening, before bed....need I go on? I easily go through a 12 pack every other day. Do I know how bad saccharin is for me? Yup. But I've been powerless to it's bubbly sweetness.

How can I deny my kids of cool roll-ups, certain candies, etc but then pop the top of another DC for myself? So, I'm stopping!

This week, I'm allowing myself 3 DCs a day. Next week 2. The following week 1....then NONE. Done.

This is going to be a long next couple weeks, but I really am going to quit this habit!
Wish me luck!

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Bad mommy day.


Can you tell it wasn't the easiest day? My baby is a bit of a drama queen.


She's going for it!


Oh yes, she's gone for gold!! Is this not the best screaming face ever?

This child is going to kill me. She is either the easiest, smiliest, most playful little thing or as you can see a demon child. I'm absolutely dreading her terrible twos. Mini-hubbie was so different, I don't feel prepared or equipped to handle this bipolar baby. I just don't have the patience I wish I possessed. When the kids are rational, I absolutely love being at home with them. When they just completely go off the deep end over a simple scratch, peas touching their bread, the wrong colored socks on, etc., I just feel done.

Will I feel like a better mother when they are older and more rational?

Monday, August 11, 2008

Relaxing can be just that.



Hubbie and I just got back from our trip to San Antonio. We had the most relaxing visit ever. All we did was lay by the pool, drink wine and eat wonderful food. Our hotel had a lazy river in which you sit in inter-tubes and the current just takes you around a heavily landscaped route. We even diverted off, grabbed a mimosa & bloody mary and then rejoined the route...without de-tubing! So fun.


This is the wine that has now ruined us. No longer will I be happy with our typical $12-15 bottles of wine. If you have a special occasion coming up, it's a goodie!

Oh and for the record, there is no #3 on its way. I'm not sure why a married couple can't take a little break together without everyone asking if we were working on #3. And I do mean, EVERYONE asking. We're good with the two we have but we're still gonna have sex, deal with it.

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Mother of the Year?


Why does "food" like this earn "Mom, you are the BEST!!!!"? While dinners that I work hard on are only greeted with groans and moans?

Shoot, it's the same way even with a one year old.


Do you think a plate with my stuffed chicken breasts, marinated cherry tomatoes, and tossed salad even gets this clean?

Sunday, August 3, 2008

be careful what you ask for.



If you request your family come in their "comfy clothes/pjs" for a bday party, you just might be greeted with this.

Artistic Inspiration comes from anywhere.


Ogre Odor. Smashed Pumpkin. Gargoyle Gas.

Up till now, Mini-hubbie has shown absolutely no artistic talent or even desire, despite coming from two designers. Usually his "drawings" look something like this.



Enter Crayola's Silly Scents crayons, and Volia! The boy has skills! Seriously, I wouldn't believe Mini-Hubbie drew this had Hubbie not watched him draw it. Apparently, it's a self portrait. Hubbie is now trying to teach him Flash so he could start earning his keep.